New NBA Resting Policy Puts Two All-Stars in a Tight Spot

By: Fatima Roshni Image credit: NBA Blast

NBA franchises of the modern era usually keep their star players for important games, including All-Star games or in-season tournaments, opting them out for the majority of regular-season games.

With various changes in the league's policies and decisions throughout its seasons, the NBA Board of Governors has recently passed a new policy focusing primarily on the star players.

"NBA has approved a new policy that a team is unable to rest two star players in a game moving forward. A star is defined as someone who has made an All-Star or All-NBA team in past three seasons."

Teams that mostly kept their star players out of any serious injuries in the regular game in order to prepare them for the important ones will now have to strategize their gameplay with the new one.

Another policy states, "Under new rules, teams would be fined $100K for a first violation, $250K for a second violation, and $1 million more than the previous penalty for each additional violation."

A total of 15 NBA teams comprise All-Star players, including the Lakers, Warriors, Mavericks, Clippers, Celtics, Suns, Kings, Grizzlies, Bucks, Hawks, Heat, Bulls, Cavaliers, and Timberwolves.

The Dallas Mavericks, with two of their All-Star players, Kyrie Irving and Luka Doncic, will now have to serve a major role this season in both the regular season and the playoffs.

While players like Kawhi Leonard and Paul George of the Los Angeles Clippers are out of the game with the most injuries, questions about their future NBA careers and the team's participation arise.

More Stories


How Does the NBA In-Season Tournament Work?